Find Info

Hours

Aug. 28 - Dec. 23, 2014

Mon 8 AM - 10 PM
Tue 8 AM - 10 PM
Wed 8 AM - 10 PM
Thu 8 AM - 10 PM
Fri 8 AM - 7 PM
Sat 10 AM - 6 PM
Sun 12 PM - 5 PM
Quiet Study Area

 

Find Articles: All Databases

(Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Encyclopedias, etc.)

indicates mobile access

* Off Campus? Login here

Need assistance? Click here to play a "logging in from off-campus" tutorial video.

Alphabetical  |  By Subject  |  Mobile Databases  |  Trials
A B C D E F G H I J K
L M N O P R S T U W

A

Academic One File
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: Large collection of journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, images, podcasts, news transcripts, and medical videos. Covers all subjects. Similar to Academic Search Complete.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: Large collection of journal articles, abstracts, and magazine articles, covering all subjects. Similar to Academic One File.

ACM Digital Library
Subject: Computer Science
Full Text: yes
Description: Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings.

African American History Online
Subject: Biography, History, Ethnic Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: In-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.

American Chemical Society Publications
Subject: Chemistry
Full Text: yes
Description: Full text of over 30 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Chemical Society.

American History in Video
Subject: History and Media
Full Text: yes
Description: Videos of historical events from commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries.

American National Biography Online
Subject: Biography
Full Text: yes
Description: Biographical material covering more than 18,000 deceased individuals important in U.S. history.

Applied Science & Technology Source
Subject: Computer Science, Science and Technology
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles from trade publications, scholarly journals, conference proceedings, including 1,400 full-text journals.

Art Abstracts
Subject: Arts & Humanities Science
Full Text: No
Description: Abstracts of journal and magazine articles covering art history, visual arts, architecture, and design.

Art Museum Image Gallery
Subject: Art, Art History
Full Text: yes
Description: Art images and related multimedia from museums worldwide, notable for contemporary and modern art. Easy cut and paste of images. Includes material not in ARTstor Digital Library.

Art Source
Subject: Art, Art History and Architectural Design
Full Text: yes
Description: A collection of over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books and over 630,000 images.

Artemis Primary Sources
Subject: Literature and History
Full Text: yes
Description: Portal for cross-searching primary source databases from Gale; including databases such as Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, and Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

ARTstor Digital Library
Subject: Art, Art History
Full Text: yes
Description: Growing collection of high-resolution images of works of art. ARTstore software downloads easily and allows zooming and panning. Includes material not in Art Museum Image Gallery.

Associations Unlimited
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: Directory of U.S. national nonprofit membership organizations.

Back to Top

B

Biography Index Retrospective
Subject: Reference, Biography
Full Text: No
Description: Index to biographical information dating from 1946–1983.

Biography Reference Bank
Subject: Biography
Full Text: yes
Description: Biographies of living and deceased from a wide range of published sources, including Current Biography.

Biography Reference Center
Subject: Reference, Biography
Full Text: yes
Description: Comprehensive collection of full-text biographies.

Black Short Fiction and Folklore
Subject: History, African Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers over eleven thousand works of short fiction produced by authors from Africa, and the African Diaspora, from the earliest times to the present.

Black Studies in Video
Subject: History
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.

Black Thought and Culture
Subject: Politics & Government, History, Ethnic Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Primary sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Also includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and ephemera.

Book Review Digest Plus
Subject: Book Reviews
Full Text: No
Description: Excerpts and selected full text of book reviews. Covers books published in the U.S. and Canada.

Books in Print
Subject: Library and Information Science, Reference
Full Text: No
Description: Provides bibliographic data of in print, out-of-print, and forthcoming titles published Worldwide, in most languages. Includes some full-text book reviews, abstracts, and lists of award winners and bestsellers.

Business and Company ASAP
Subject: Business & Company Information
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides company, market, and industry information.

Business Insights: Essentials
Subject: Business & Company Information
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers all areas of business, including marketing, accounting, finance, management, and economics. News articles, market research reports, industry overviews, and company histories.

Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Business, Economics, & Accounting
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers all areas of business, including marketing, accounting, finance, management, and economics. News articles, market research reports, industry and company profiles.

Back to Top

C

Caribbean Literature
Subject: History, Caribbean Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of poetry and fiction produced in the Caribbean region during nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Caribbean Search
Subject: Caribbean Studies, Ethnic Studies, History
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of hundreds of Caribbean-focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books

Choice Reviews
Subject: Book Reviews
Full Text: yes
Description: Reviews of academic books and other resources.

The Chronicle of Higher Education
Subject: Education, News
Full Text: yes
Description: Main source of news, information, and jobs for college faculty members and administrators.

The Chronicle of Philanthropy
Subject: News, Reference
Full Text: yes
Description: News source for fund raisers, grant makers, organizations, and people involved in philanthropic enterprises.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Subject: Politics, Government
Full Text: yes
Description: Scholarship in international affairs including working papers, occasional papers, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs as well as teaching materials.

CINAHL Complete
Subject: Nursing & Allied Health
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of scholarly and professional journals in nursing & allied health.

Cinema Image Gallery
Subject: Cinema, History of movie making
Full Text: yes
Description: Still images from movies, television and the entertainment industry.

College Source
Subject: Education
Full Text: yes
Description: College profiles, catalogs, bulletins, and websites.

Columbia Grangers World of Poetry
Subject: Literature & languages
Full Text: yes
Description: Used to locate the book(s) that a poem was published in. Contains full-text of the “top 500 poems.” Includes audio, commentaries, biographies and a glossary of poetry terms.

Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Media
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles or abstracts from scholarly journals in communication & mass media and related fields.

Congress and the Nation
Subject: Law, Government and Political Science
Full Text: yes
Description: Online version of Congress and the Nation.

CQ Researcher
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: In-depth reports on current and often controversial social issues.

Credo Reference
Subject: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Thesauri
Full Text: yes
Description: Online reference library of over 125 encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, as well as subject-specific reference books.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Subject:
Full Text: yes
Description: Includes full text for more than 200 magazines and journals, as well as full-text books and monographs in areas related to criminal justice and criminology.

Critical Care Medicine
Subject: Nursing and Allied Health
Full Text: yes
Description: In-depth research on critical care medicine, from 1995 to the present.

Culture Grams
Subject: Reference
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides facts and figures for over 200 countries with an emphasis on daily life and culture. Additional modules provide information on the United States and Canada.

CUNY Databases
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: The core collection of databases and e-journals that all CUNY libraries share.

Back to Top

D

Daily Life Through History
Subject: History, Social Sciences, Anthropology, Ethnic Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Presents the daily life and customs of peoples throughout history and modern times with articles, images, maps and primary documents.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Subject: Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles from open-access science journals.

DSM-5-TR Online
Subject: Psychology and Reference
Full Text: yes
Description: Online version of DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Includes access to DSM-I, DSM-II, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, and DSM-IV-TR with archives.

Back to Top

E

EasyBib
Subject: Citations and Bibliographies
Full Text: No
Description: A tool for managing citations, learning various aspects of writing research papers, and preparing presentations. All users need to register and set up an account in order to save their work.

Ebrary's Academic Complete
Subject: All
Full Text: yes
Description: E-books database with approximately 51,000 titles from all academic subject areas. Limited printing available.

EBSCOhost
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: Select from EBSCO databases or search multiple databases simultaneously.

EBSCOhost Ebook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: E-books covering all subjects.

Econlit (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Economics Science
Full Text: No
Description: Articles from economics journals.

Economist
Subject: Historical Archives in Economics
Full Text: yes
Description: Business, finance, politics, science, and technology news from The Economist weekly magazine, from its inception in 1843.

Education Source
Subject: Education, Early Childhood Education, & Library Science
Full Text: yes
Description: Full-text resource for education, containing more than 1,700 journals.

Education in Video
Subject: Education
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers streaming videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Subject: History, Religion, Literature, Law, Fine Arts, Science & more
Full Text: yes
Description: Important English and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain and America during the 1700's, including books, Bibles, sheet music, sermons, and advertisements.

eLibrary® Elementary
Subject: Education and Early Childhood Education
Full Text: yes
Description: A collection of over 130 magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, images, weblinks, and audio/video titles, for elementary school studies.

Encyclopaedia Britannica
Subject: Encyclopedia
Full Text: yes
Description: Digital version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Education
Full Text: yes
Description: Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains full-text digests, abstracts for journal articles, research reports, conference papers, books, and teaching guides. Links to some full-text documents and journal articles.

Essay and General Literature Index
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: No
Description: An index to essays and articles published in anthologies and collections.

Essay & General Literature Retrospective
Subject: Literature and Social Sciences
Full text: No
Description: Covering 1900–1984, an index to essays and other articles found in anthologies and collections in the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, drama and film.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Subject: Ethnic Studies
Full Text: Full text available
Description: A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides access to viewpoints often overlooked in the mainstream media. Nearly one quarter of ENW's articles are presented in Spanish.

Ethnographic Video Online: Volume I
Subject: History, Sociology, Anthropology and Area Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering cultures and human behavior around the world.

Ethnographic Video Online: Volume II
Subject: History, Sociology, Anthropology and Area Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering cultures and human behavior around the world.

Back to Top

F

Films on Demand
Subject: All
Full Text: yes
Description: Thousands of high-quality streaming videos covering academic subjects as well as job training and life skills.

Back to Top

G

Gale Artemis Literary Sources Portal
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: Portal for cross-searching literary databases from Gale; including databases such as Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, MLA Bibliography, Twayne's Authors Series, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Subject: Reference
Full Text: yes
Description: Strong collection of subject encyclopedias covering a broad spectrum. Includes the For Students series (Drama, Poetry, Short Stories, and Novels).

Gale World History in Context
Subject: History
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of periodicals, reference books, primary source microfilms, maps, media material, and more, in World history.

Gannett Newsstand Complete
Subject: Newspapers
Full Text: yes
Description: A collection of over 85 Gannett newspapers. It includes six New York newspapers which are: the Ithaca Journal, Journal News (White Plains), Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira).

General One File
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: Large, general interest collection of scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and multimedia.

General Science Full Text
Subject: Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles or abstracts from journals and magazines covering physical, biological and health sciences.

Global Issues in Context
Subject: Social Sciences and Global Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of news, global viewpoints, country information, primary source documents, statistical data and multimedia resources on interdisciplinary world issues.

Google Scholar
Subject: All subjects
Full Text: yes
Description: Search engine for scholarly literature on the Web. Does not provide comprehensive coverage of any one field. To locate full-text articles while on campus, click on the link “Find Full Text at BMCC.”

Green File
Subject: Environment
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles or abstracts from scholarly journals, environmental magazines, government documents, and other sources. Offers a unique perspective on how humans affect the the environment.

Grolier Online
Subject: Reference
Full Text: yes
Description: Contains entries from encyclopedias, including Encyclopedia Americana, Associated Press (AP) news, and Pro/Con debates.

Grove Art see Oxford Art Online

Grove Music see Oxford Music Online

Back to Top

H

Health Reference Center Academic
Subject: Nursing & Allied Health
Full Text: yes
Description: Nursing and allied health journals as well as magazines, news, and multimedia.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Nursing & Allied Health
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles or abstracts from journals covering nursing, allied health and other medical disciplines. Includes information about prescription drugs.

HighWire
Subject: Nursing & Allied Health, Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles from journals in the biological, medical, physical and social sciences. Made available by Stanford University Libraries.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Subject: History
Full Text: No
Description: Covers the history and culture of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

History Reference Center
Subject: History
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers full-text articles from more than 200 history periodicals, over 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books, from leading history publishers.

Humanities Source
Subject: Archaeology, Arts, Media, Religion, Women's Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles from 1,450 journals and magazines in the humanities, including art, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, literary criticism, music, the performing arts, philosophy and religion.

Back to Top

I

IBIS World
Subject: Business and Economics
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers over 700 U.S. industry reports and over 70 global industry reports. Each report has more than 35 pages of facts, figures, trends, analyses, and forecasts.

Infoshare
Subject: Statistics
Full Text: yes
Description: Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data, and more. Ability to profile New York City neighborhoods.

Back to Top

J

JAMA
Subject: Nursing & Allied Health
Full Text: yes
Description: Electronic version of Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA). Also includes Archives Journals published by the American Medical Association.

Journal of College Student Retention: Research, Theory and Practice
Subject: Business, Education & Early Childhood Education, Reference, Social Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: In-depth research on college retention and attrition.

Journal of Excellence in College Teaching
Subject: Education and Early Childhood Education
Full text: yes
Description: Ejournal related to teaching and learning.

JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I-XII)
Subject: Anthropology & Archaeology, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History, Languages, Literature, Mathematics, Politics, Social Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: Archive of core scholarly journals, covering many subjects. Full text starting with the first issue.

Back to Top

K

Kids InfoBits
Subject: Early Childhood Education
Full Text: yes
Description: A collection of reference sources and magazines for elementary school studies.

Kids Search (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Education
Full Text: yes
Description: A visual database geared towards elementary school children. Includes teaching resources.

Back to Top

L

Latino Literature
Subject: Ethnic Studies, Latino Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: A collection of fiction, non-fiction, poetry and dramas related to Hispanic and Latino countries.

Law Library Microfilm Collection Digital
Subject: Law
Full Text: yes
Description: Legal literature and government documents in digital microform.

Learning Express Library
Subject: Education
Full Text: yes
Description: Includes test preparation and practice tests (such as TOEFL, GED, and CLEP) as well as self-testing on math, writing, and grammar. Also includes job search and workplace skills preparation. Must create an account to use.

Legal Source
Subject: Law, Political Science and Government
Full text: yes
Description:Provides information on current issues and trends of the legal world from over 870 journals.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Subject: News, Business, Law, Medicine, & Reference
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources.

LGBT Life with Full Text
Subject: Diversity Studies, Gender Studies and Social Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: A collection of LGBT monographs, journals, magazines and regional newspapers.

Library & Information Science Source
Subject: Library Science
Full Text: yes
Description: More than 430 full-text journals in the library and information science field.

Literary Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: Literary criticism, biographies, and overviews of authors and their works. Includes Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature and several Magill's titles. Similar to Literature Resource Center.

Literature Resource Center
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: Literary criticism as well as biographical information on authors and their works. Similar to Literary Reference Center.

LitFinder
Subject: Poetry and Literature Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Full text of over 126,500 poems, some short fiction, speeches and longer works, and citations for many more. Also includes author biographies and work overviews. Search by century, format, or an author's ethnicity or gender.

Back to Top

M

Making of the Modern World
Subject: Literature, Economics & Business
Full Text: yes
Description: Historical collection for the study of economic theory and history, 1450–1850. Documents the dynamics of Western trade. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, government publications, and ephemera.

MAS Ultra - School edition (EBSCOhost)
Subject: All Subject Areas, Popular Culture, & Education
Full Text: yes
Description: Large magazine article collection covering popular general interest topics and current events — in many cases coverage goes back many years. Includes primary documents, photos, maps, and color PDF files.

MasterFILE Complete (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Social Sciences & Reference
Full Text: yes
Description: A collection of popular magazine articles, reference works, and primary source material on all subject areas. Includes photos, maps, flags, and color PDF files.

MathSciNet
Subject: Mathematics
Full Text: No
Description: Provides reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research.

MEDLINE Complete
Subject: Nursing & Allied Health
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles or abstracts from medical journals. Created by the National Library of Medicine.

MEDLINE (PubMed)
Subject: Nursing & Allied Health
Full Text: No
Description: PubMed, a government website, comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Links to full text at PubMed Central.

Mergent Investor Edge
Subject: Business and Economics
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides annual reports, industry reports, and stock recommendations.

Military and Government Collection (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Politics & Government
Full Text: yes
Description: Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

MLA International Bibliography
Subject: Literature, Languages & Arts
Full Text: No
Description: Provides citations for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.

Modern World History Online
Subject: Biography, History
Full Text: yes
Description: Spans world history from prehistoric times to the present, with biographies, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts.

Back to Top

N

National Geographic Magazine Archive
Subject: Anthropology, Environmental Science, Culture and Nature
Full Text: yes
Description: The complete archive of the National Geographic Magazine from 1888 to the mid-1990s.

National Newspaper Index
Subject: News
Full Text: No
Description: Indexes articles from The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Includes some brief abstracts.

Nature
Subject: Sciences & Technology
Full Text: yes
Description: Highly regarded international weekly journal of science, from 1950 to the current issue.

Naxos Music Library
Subject: Music
Full Text: yes
Description: Streaming music library of mainly classical and world music. Includes some pop and rock, choral, instrumental, gospel, poetry, spoken word, and relaxation music.

New England Journal of Medicine
Subject: Nursing & Allied Health
Full Text: yes
Description: Multimedia version of the weekly medical journal. Publishes new research findings and contains medical videos. Full-text coverage from 1990 to the present. Indexes articles from 1812–1989.

New York State Newspapers
Subject: News
Full Text: yes
Description: Selected newspapers and newswires published in the state of New York.

New York Times Digital (registration required for access)
Subject: News
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Digital version of New York Times that is accessible with a BMCC e-mail address.
Instructions: Click on register to create a NYTimes.com account using your BMCC e-mail address. At the bottom of the welcome page, click continue. Look for a "confirm your e-mail address" message, which should arrive to your BMCC e-mail. If you do not get a confirmation e-mail, check your spam filter. If you still do not receive it, send an e-mail from your BMCC e-mail account to edu@nytimes.com. Click on the link in the confirmation e-mail to activate your subscription. Once you've created an account, always go directly to New York Times Digital. Access will simply require your BMCC New York Times login. You will see your subscription as being for "one year," although it will be renewed as the subscription continues.

New York Times Historical
Subject: News
Full Text: Full text available
Description: The New York Times in PDF format from 1851 to the last four years.

Newsstand (Gale)
Subject: Newspapers
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Subject: Literature, Religion, Social Sciences, Science and Women Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Primary source collection in a variety of western and non-western languages from a wide variety of distinct archives from the 19th century.

Nursing Resource Center with Allied Health
Subject: Nursing and Allied Health
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles or abstracts from nursing and allied health journals. Includes many articles cited in CINAHL database.

NYCdata
Subject: History, Statistics, Census Data
Full Text: yes
Description: Statistical data pertaining to New York City such as employment, housing, and education as well as links to famous sites in NYC. Compiled by the Business School of Baruch.

Back to Top

O

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides essays on controversial issues, representing different sides of an issue. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Provides content from the book series Opposing Viewpoints in Context.

Ovid Nursing E-book Collection
Subject: Nursing and Health Science
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides the full text of 415 nursing books.

Oxford Art Online
Subject: Arts & Humanities
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles on every aspect of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts, and photography) from prehistory to the present (replaces Grove Art Online).

Oxford English Dictionary
Subject: Dictionary
Full Text: yes
Description: The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

Oxford Music Online
Subject: Arts & Humanities
Full Text: yes
Description: Comprehensive encyclopedia of Western “classical music”, with general coverage of jazz, non-Western, and folk music (replaces Grove Music Online).

Oxford Reference Online
Subject: Dictionaries & Quotations
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides access to dictionaries on a wide area of different subjects. Includes bilingual dictionaries.

Oxford Very Short Introductions
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides subject and topic introductions written by authors who are experts in their field. Simultaneous access to this database is available to 5 users only.

Back to Top

P

Palgrave Connect E-books Collection
Subject: Business, Economics, Education History, Language & Linguistics, Literature, Media & Theatre Arts, Political Science, and Religion & Philosophy.
Full Text: yes
Description: Over 4,600 full text reference books and monographs

PLOS Biology
Subject: Biology
Full Text: yes
Description: Open access to recent scientific reports.

PLOS Medicine
Subject: Health and Medicine
Full Text: yes
Description: Open access to recent scientific reports.

Points of View Reference Center
Subject: All Subjects
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides essays on controversial issues, representing different sides of an issue. Includes magazine and newspaper articles, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents, biographies, and images.

Powerspeak Languages
Subject: Languages
Full Text: yes
Description: An interactive tool which covers online learning lessons for ESL, Italian, Spanish, French, German and Mandarin language learners.

Primary Search (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Early Childhood Education
Full Text: yes
Description: Full text of more than 80 elementary school magazines. Also includes reference books for children.

Professional Development Collection
Subject: Education and Professional Development
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive, full text source of education journals from around the world.

Project MUSE
Subject: Anthropology, Arts, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History, Languages, Library Science, Literature, Medicine, Philosophy, Popular Culture
Full Text: yes
Description: Comprehensive collection of humanities and social science journals, including journals not found elsewhere.

PsychARTICLES (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Psychology
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Psychology
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles or abstracts from psychology journals.

PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Psychology
Full Text: yes
Description: Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations from major psychological organizations. Links to some full text.

Back to Top

R

Readers' Guide Full Text
Subject: Multidisciplinary Database & Popular Culture
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles or abstracts from popular, general-interest magazines.

Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890–1982
Subject: Multidisciplinary Database & Popular Culture
Full Text: No
Description: Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Coverage: 1890–1982.

Research Monitor
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: No
Description: Provides Euromonitor International's industry and country research reports for 80 countries, with daily articles and opinions from industry and country experts.

Refworks
Subject: Citations and Bibliographies
Full Text: No
Description: Used to create and store bibliographies in most styles, including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. Must create an account to use.

Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Accounting, Business & Economics
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles and abstracts from both domestic and international business journals, newspapers, and newswires.

Back to Top

S

Sage Premier
Subject: Anthropology, Business Management, Communication & Media, Criminal Justice, Education, International Relations, Health, Politics, Psychology, Science & Technology, Sociology
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers over 600 journals in the field of Social Sciences, Criminal Justice , Health & Medicine, and Science.
Note: Full text access is available for the limited date range from 1/1/2012 to 12/31/2013.

Salem Health
Subject: Nursing, Allied Health & Medicine
Full Text: yes
Description: Online version of reference sets "Magill's Medical Guide, 6th edition" and "Genetics & Inherited Collection."

Salem History
Subject: History
Full Text: yes
Description: Online version of several sets of history reference books.Excellent place to start for introductory material on historical themes, people, and places.

Salem Literature
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: "Critical Insights" volumes on authors James Baldwin, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Toni Morrison. "Critical Insights" volumes on Maya Angelou's I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings and Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart. Also, includes online version of the book "Master plots."

Salem Science
Subject: Engineering & Technology, Science
Full Text: yes
Description: Online version of "Encyclopedia of Global Resources", "Encyclopedia of Global Warming", "Forensic Science", "the Solar System" and "Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues" from Salem press.

Science Direct - College Edition
Subject: Physical Sciences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles from scientific, technical, and medical journals not available elsewhere, including Elsevier journals. Covers a wide variety of areas, including health sciences and social science.

Science Magazine
Subject: Sciences, Anthropology
Full Text: yes
Description: Full text of Science (1997 to current issue), featuring original scientific research, global news, and commentary.

Scopus
Subject: Sciences, Health, Social Sciences, Psychology, Business, Economics
Full Text: No
Description: Provides abstracts of articles and conference papers. Links to some full-text articles. Primarily covers scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields.

Scribner's Writers Online
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world.

Searchasaurus (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Education
Full Text: yes
Description: A visually oriented database that provides research help for elementary and middle school children. Also includes teacher resources.

17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive
Subject: Newspapers, Communication and Mass media
Full Text: yes
Description: The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest collection of early English news media.

Shakespearean Literature Criticism Online (LCO)
Subject: English
Full Text: yes
Description: Online version of Shakespearean Criticism. E-mail link option only allows for the citation to be sent. Save articles to the local desktop and attach to your e-mail, or save articles onto a flash drive.

Short Story Criticism (Gale)
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides both historical and recent criticism about well-known short stories as well biographical information about authors. E-mail link option only allows for the citation to be sent. Save articles to the local desktop and attach to your e-mail, or save articles onto a flash drive.

Short Story Index
Subject: Literature
Full Text: No
Description: Used to identify the book or journal that a short story was published in, 1984 to the present.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archives
Subject: Social Sciences, Ethnic Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Primary source collection includes the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, and the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth centuries.

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Subject: Social Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: Comprehensive database with full text for 344 “core” journals dating back to 1881, and 129 “priority” coverage journals. Includes e-book chapters, as well.

Social Explorer Census Reference
Subject: History, Statistics, Census Data
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides demographic data about the United States from 1790 to the present with maps, tables, and reports.

Social Sciences Full Text
Subject: Social Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles or abstracts from journals covering many subjects, including Community Health & Medical Care, Criminal Justice, Ethics, Family Studies, Gerontology, Planning & Public Administration, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology, and Urban Studies.

Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Subject: Social Sciences
Full Text: No
Description: Indexes of journals in all areas of the social sciences as far back as 1929.

Springer E-books Collection
Subject: All
Full Text: yes
Description: E-books and E-Reference Books in a variety of disciplines including science, technology and medicine.

SpringerLink
Subject: Interdisciplinary
Full Text: yes
Description: E-format of journals and books published by Springer.

Back to Top

T

Testing & Education Reference Center with Career Module
Subject: Education
Full Text: yes
Description: Includes test preparation and practice tests (such as TOEFL, TOEIC, and more) as well as career assessment tools for job search and workplace skills preparation. Also includes career preparation test tools for law enforcement, firefighters, medical/nursing, postal, air traffic control, teaching, military services, and more. Must create an account to use.

Theatre in Video
Subject: Performing Arts, Videos
Full Text: yes
Description: A collection of the world’s most important plays and video documentaries.

Turnitin
Subject: Plagiarism detection
Full Text: No
Description: A tool for plagiarism detection in submitted documents and  papers. Faculty members need to contact a librarian in order to set up an account. Students may get login information from their professors.

Twayne's Authors Online
Subject: Literature and Biography
Full Text: yes
Description: Biographical information and literary criticism about authors from around the world and all time periods. This information is also found in the Literature Resource Center.

Back to Top

U

Ulrichsweb
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: No
Description: Provides publication information about periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.

Back to Top

W

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600–2000
Subject: Politics & Government, History, Ethnic Studies, Women's Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Includes reports, pamphlets, posters, and ephemeral materials dealing with the history of women's movements in the U.S.

Women and Social Movements International
Subject: History, Women Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, photographs, videos, reports of international women's organizations, publications and primary documents such as letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: No
Description: An international library catalog, used to find out which libraries own a particular book, journal, or other material. Useful when CUNY does not own a material.

World Folklore and Folklife
Subject: Social Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Anthropology, Women's and Gender Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides information on folklore, customs, and holidays from countries around the world.

World History in Video
Subject: History
Full Text: yes
Description: : An online collection of streaming videos covering world history that provides access to critically-acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Regional Portal
Subject: Area Studies, Ethnic studies, history, Social Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: Multi-language documents provide information on contemporary and historical maps, culture & more for the Latin America and Caribbean region.

Back to Top