Find Info

Hours

August 25 - 31, 2014

Mon 9 AM - 6 PM
Tue 9 AM - 6 PM
Wed 9 AM - 6 PM
Thu 8 AM - 10 PM
Fri 8 AM - 7 PM
Sat CLOSED
Sun CLOSED
Quiet Study Area
Fall Semester

 

Find Articles: History



indicates mobile access

*Off Campus? Login here

Need assistance? Click here to play a "logging in from off-campus" tutorial video.

African American History Online
Subject: Biography, History, Ethnic Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: In-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.

American History in Video
Subject: History and Media
Full Text: yes
Description: Videos of historical events from commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries

Artemis Primary Sources
Subject: Literature and History
Full Text: yes
Description: Portal for cross-searching primary source databases from Gale; including databases such as Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, and Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Black Short Fiction and Folklore
Subject: History, African Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers over eleven thousand works of short fiction produced by authors from Africa, and the African Diaspora, from the earliest times to the present.

Black Studies in Video
Subject: History
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.

Black Thought and Culture
Subject: Politics & Government, History, Ethnic Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Primary sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Also includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and ephemera.

Caribbean Search
Subject: Caribbean Studies, Ethnic Studies, History
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of hundreds of Caribbean-focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books.

Daily Life Through History
Subject: History, Social Sciences, Anthropology, Ethnic Studies
Full Text:Full text available
Description: Presents the daily life and customs of peoples throughout history and modern times with articles, images, maps and primary documents.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Subject: History, Religion, Literature, Law, Fine Arts, Science & more
Full Text:Full text available
Description: Important English and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain and America during the 1700's, including books, Bibles, sheet music, sermons, and advertisements.

Films on Demand
Subject: All
Full Text: yes
Description: Thousands of high-quality streaming videos covering academic subjects as well as job training and life skills.

Gale World History in Context
Subject: History
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of periodicals, reference books, primary source microfilms, maps, media material, and more, in World history.

Global Issues in Context
Subject: Social Sciences and Global Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of news, global viewpoints, country information, primary source documents, statistical data and multimedia resources on interdisciplinary world issues.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Subject: All
Full Text: No
Description: Covers the history and culture of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

History Reference Center
Subject: History
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers full-text articles from more than 200 history periodicals, over 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books, from leading history publishers.

Humanities Source
Subject: Archaeology, Arts, Media, Religion, Women's Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles from 1,450 journals and magazines in the humanities, including art, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, literary criticism, music, the performing arts, philosophy and religion.

JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I-XII)
Subject: Anthropology & Archaeology, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History, Languages, Literature, Mathematics, Politics, Social Sciences
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Archive of core scholarly journals. Full text starting with the first issue.

Making of the Modern World
Subject: History, Literature, Economics & Business
Full Text: yes
Description: Historical collection for the study of economic theory and history, 1450–1850. Documents the dynamics of Western trade. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, government publications, and ephemera.

Modern World History Online
Subject: Biography, History
Full Text:yes
Description: Spans world history from prehistoric times to the present, with biographies, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts.

New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
Subject: News
Full Text: Full text available
Description: The New York Times in PDF format from 1851 to the last four years.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Subject: Literature, Religion, Social Sciences, Science and Women Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Primary source collection in a variety of western and non-western languages from a wide variety of distinct archives from the 19th century.

Oxford Reference Online
Subject: Dictionaries & Quotations
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides access to dictionaries on a wide area of different subjects. Includes bilingual dictionaries.

Salem History
Subject: History
Full Text: yes
Description: Online version of several sets of history reference books. Excellent place to start for introductory material on historical themes, people, and places.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archives
Subject: Social Sciences, Ethnic Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Primary source collection includes the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, and the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth centuries.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Subject: Politics & Government, History, Ethnic Studies, Women's Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Includes reports, pamphlets, posters, and ephemeral materials dealing with the history of women's movements in the U.S.

Women and Social Movements International
Subject: History, Women Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, photographs, videos, reports of international women's organizations, publications and primary documents such as letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century.

World Folklore and Folklife
Subject: Social Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Anthropology, Women's and Gender Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides information on folklore, customs, and holidays from countries around the world.

World History in Video
Subject: History
Full Text: yes
Description: : An online collection of streaming videos covering world history that provides access to critically-acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Regional Portal
Subject: Area Studies, Ethnic studies, history, Social Sciences
Full Text: yes
Description: Multi-language documents provide information on contemporary and historical maps, culture & more for the Latin America and Caribbean region.