Find Info

Hours

Aug. 28 - Dec. 23, 2014

Mon 8 AM - 10 PM
Tue 8 AM - 10 PM
Wed 8 AM - 10 PM
Thu 8 AM - 10 PM
Fri 8 AM - 7 PM
Sat 10 AM - 6 PM
Sun 12 PM - 5 PM
Quiet Study Area

 

Find Articles: Literature & Poetry



indicates mobile access

*Off Campus? Login here

Need assistance? Click here to play a "logging in from off-campus" tutorial video.

Academic One File
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: Large collection of journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, images, podcasts, news transcripts, and medical videos. Covers all subjects. Similar to Academic Search Complete.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Subject: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: Large collection of journal articles, abstracts, and magazine articles, covering all subjects. Similar to Academic One File.

Artemis Primary Sources
Subject: Literature and History
Full Text: yes
Description: Portal for cross-searching primary source databases from Gale; including databases such as Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, and Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Black Short Fiction and Folklore
Subject: History, African Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Covers over eleven thousand works of short fiction produced by authors from Africa, and the African Diaspora, from the earliest times to the present.

Book Review Digest Plus
Subject: Book Reviews
Full Text: No
Description: Excerpts and selected full text of book reviews. Covers books published in the U.S. and Canada.

Caribbean Literature
Subject: History, Caribbean Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: A comprehensive collection of poetry and fiction produced in the Caribbean region during nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Columbia Grangers World of Poetry
Subject: Literature & languages
Full Text: yes
Description: Used to locate the book(s) that a poem was published in. Contains full-text of the “top 500 poems.” Includes audio, commentaries, biographies and a glossary of poetry terms.

Essay and General Literature Index
Subject: Literature and Social Sciences
Full Text: No
Description: An index to essays and articles published in anthologies and collections.

Essay and General Literature Retrospective
Subject: Literature and Social Sciences
Full Text: No
Description: Covering 1900-1984, an index to essays and other articles found in anthologies and collections in the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, drama and film.

Films on Demand
Subject: All
Full Text: yes
Description: Thousands of high-quality streaming videos covering academic subjects as well as job training and life skills.

Gale Artemis Literary Sources Portal
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: Portal for cross-searching literary databases from Gale; including databases such as Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, MLA Bibliography, Twayne's Authors Series, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Subject: Reference
Full Text: yes
Description: Strong collection of subject encyclopedias covering a broad spectrum. Includes the For Students series (Drama, Poetry, Short Stories, and Novels).

Humanities Source
Subject: Archaeology, Arts, Media, Religion, Women's Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Articles from 1,450 journals and magazines in the humanities, including art, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, literary criticism, music, the performing arts, philosophy and religion.

JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I-XII)
Subject: Anthropology & Archaeology, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History, Languages, Literature, Mathematics, Politics, Social Sciences
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Archive of core scholarly journals. Full text starting with the first issue.

Latino Literature
Subject: Ethnic Studies, Latino Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: A collection of fiction, non´┐Żfiction, poetry and dramas related to Hispanic and Latino countries.

Literary Reference Center (Ebsco)
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: Literary criticism, biographies, and overviews of authors and their works. Includes Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature and several Magill's titles. Similar to Literature Resource Center.

Literature Resource Center
Subject: Literature
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Literary criticism as well as biographical information on authors and their works. Includes Twayne's Author Online. Similar to Literary Reference Center.

LitFinder
Subject: Poetry and Literature Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Full text of over 126,500 poems, some short fiction, speeches and longer works, and citations for many more. Also includes author biographies and work overviews. Search by century, format, or an author's ethnicity or gender.

MLA International Bibliography
Subject: Literature, Languages & Arts
Full Text: No
Description: Provides citations for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Subject: Literature, Religion, Social Sciences, Science and Women Studies
Full Text: yes
Description: Primary source collection in a variety of western and non-western languages from a wide variety of distinct archives from the 19th century.

Project MUSE
Subject: Anthropology, Arts, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History, Languages, Library Science, Literature, Medicine, Philosophy, Popular Culture
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Comprehensive collection of humanities and social science journals, including journals not found elsewhere.

Salem Literature
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: "Critical Insights" volumes on authors James Baldwin, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Toni Morrison. "Critical Insights" volumes on Maya Angelou's I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings and Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart. Also, includes online version of the book "Master plots."

Scribner's Writers Online
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world.

Shakespearean Literature Criticism Online (LCO)
Subject: English
Full Text: yes
Description: Online version of Shakespearean Criticism. E-mail link option only allows for the citation to be sent. Save articles to the local desktop and attach to your e-mail, or save articles onto a flash drive.

Short Story Criticism (Gale)
Subject: Literature
Full Text: yes
Description: Provides both historical and recent criticism about well-known short stories as well biographical information about authors. E-mail link option only allows for the citation to be sent. Save articles to the local desktop and attach to your e-mail, or save articles onto a flash drive.

Short Story Index
Subject: Literature
Full Text: No
Description: Used to identify the book or journal that a short story was published in, 1984 to the present.

Twayne's Authors Online
Subject: Literature and Biography
Full Text: yes
Description: Biographical information and literary criticism about authors from around the world and all time periods. This information is also found in the Literature Resource Center.