Finding Information: Databases by Subject - Multidisciplinary Databases
Quick Links:
EBSCOhost
Lexis-Nexis
Literature Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints
Gale Virtual Reference
Encyclopaedia Britannica
CUNY Databases
Browse databases by subject:


Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Subject Area: All Subject Areas
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Covers journals and magazines for most areas of academic study. 3,800 full text journals (including peer-reviewed journals) and magazines.

CQ Researcher
Subject Area: All Subject Areas
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Detailed reports with background information and statistics on current issues.

CSA Illumina
Subject Area: All Subject Areas
Full Text: yes
Description: CSA Illumina provides access to more than 100 full-text and bibliographic databases published by CSA and its publishing partners in the Humanities and Natural Sciences.

Essay and General Literature (WilsonWeb)
Subject Area: All Subject Areas
Full Text: No
Description: Index of articles contained in collections of essays. Subject coverage ranges from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

Informe (InfoTrac)
Subject Area: All Subject Areas & Popular Culture
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

JSTOR
Subject Area: Anthropology & Archaeology, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History, Languages, Literature, Mathematics, Politics, & Social Sciences
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Archive of core scholarly journals. Full text starting with the first issue.

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost)
Subject Area: All Subject Areas, Social Sciences & Reference
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Full text journals, magazines, and pamphlets; biographies; charts, tables, and graphs; essential documents in American history; and reference books.

MasterFILE Select (EBSCOhost)
Subject Area: Multidisciplinary Databases, Social Sciences & Literature
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Index of articles contained in collections of essays. Subject coverage ranges from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

MAS Ultra - School edition (EBSCOhost)
Subject Area: All Subject Areas, Popular Culture, & Education
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Full text for popular general interest and current events publications and 237 full text reference books, 91,600 biographies, 75,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 107,135 photos.

netLibrary
Subject Area: All Subject Areas
Full Text: Full text available
Description: This database contains the full text of thousands of e-books in all subject areas.

Opposing Viewpoints (InfoTrac)
Subject Area: All Subject Areas
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors.

Project MUSE
Subject Area: Anthropology, Arts, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History, Languages, Library Science, Literature, Medicine, Philosophy, Popular Culture
Full Text: Full text available
Description: Full text of 200 peer-reviewed journals.

Readers' Guide Full Text (WilsonWeb)
Subject Area: Multidisciplinary Database & Popular Culture
Full Text:yes
Description: Abstracts of articles from the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.

Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 (WilsonWeb)
Subject Area: All Subject Areas& Popular Culture
Full Text: No
Description: Index of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

TOPICsearch (EBSCOhost)
Subject Area: All Subject Areas, Education, & Popular Culture
Full Text: Full text available
Description: This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Subject Area: All Subject Areas
Full Text: No
Description: Index of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.